This is the "Introduction & Major Services" page of the "Law Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Syracuse University College of Law - Test

Law Databases  

This guide presents licensed databases and other electronic resources available to Syracuse University College of Law users.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.law.syr.edu/content.php?pid=545148 Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction & Major Services Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Resources!

Check out these new resources recently added to the Law Library Databases pages.

  • Fastcase
    Check out this new Major Legal Research Service which includes publications of the New York State Bar Association and many titles from the Kluwer (Aspen) Treatise library! (See its full description in the next column over.) (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law users only.)
  • NYCRR Digital Archive
    The Archive contains replaced pages or "takeouts" from the New York Codes, Rules, and Regulations of the State of New York since its inception in 1945 through 2001. This free resource allows researchers to more easily determine previous versions of the NYCRR. The pages have been scanned and converted to searchable PDFs. (Internet Resource; Open Access)
 

Library Catalog Search

Major Legal Research Services

The resources below represent some of the major legal research services available to College of Law users.  To find other databases, particularly those geared to a specific subject area or jurisdiction, please review the resources on the tabs above.  Many non-law specific databases are also available through the main University library -- please see the Syracuse University Libraries Databases page.

  • Bloomberg Law
    Comprehensive legal research service compiling extensive primary and secondary legal material. Includes significant docket coverage. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law users only via vendor-supplied passwords.)
  • LexisNexis
    Comprehensive legal research service compiling extensive primary and secondary legal mterial. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law users only via vendor supplied passwords.)
  • Westlaw
    Comprehensive legal research service compiling extensive primary and secondary legal material. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law users only via vendor-supplied passwords.)
  • FastCase
    This alternative online legal research service provides quick access to cases, statutes and other primary legal material at the federal and state level. It also includes access to many titles in the Kluwer (Aspen) Treatise library and publications of the New York Bar Association. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law users only.)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    This extensive resource contains federal and state legal materials including cases including the Shepherds citation service. It also includes a vast assortment of general, business, medical, and legal news. Access to LexisNexis Statistical is also available through this portal. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law and other SU users; Remote access available through this link to College of Law users only. Remote access for other SU (non-Law) users is through the Syracuse University Libraries website.)

Featured Resource

  • Law360
    Law360 is a leading legal news and analysis service used by many top law firms and Fortune 500 companies to stay informed on the latest legal developments. Every business day, Law360 publishes more than 175 articles across 40+ practice, industry, and state sections. (Access provided to College of Law users only.)

Other Large Legal Research Collections

  • HeinOnline
    This electronic collection is the premier resource for finding law review and legal journal articles, as well as many other historical legal publications. Includes the Law Journal Library, Foreign & International Law Resources, the historic Federal Register, Treaties & Agreements, U.S. Presidential Papers Library, and more. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law and other SU users.)
  • Bureau of National Affairs
    BNA offers full research libraries and news services for specialty areas of law. Hundreds of subject areas covered from Antitrust Law to Trade & Commerce. (Licensed databases; Access provided to College of Law users only.)
  • Index to Legal Periodicals - Full Text
    Includes many legal journals, yearbooks, bar association publications and more from the United States and also the United Kingdom. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law users only.)
  • LLMC-Digital
    The Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) is actively digitizing many federal legal and government documents. (Licensed database; Access provided to College of Law users only.)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip