This is the "Home" page of the "Special Education Law - Legislative History (Legislation & Policy) & additional research sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Syracuse University College of Law - Test

Special Education Law - Legislative History (Legislation & Policy) & additional research sources  

Created for Prof. Arlene Kanter's Legislation and Policy Course - Research instructional session regarding legislative history sources. To be presented in class 2/24/15
Last Updated: Apr 6, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.law.syr.edu/special_education_law_legislation_and_policy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Primary Source: Public Laws

Education for All Handicapped Children Act of 1975 -

Public Law 94-142 (89 Stat. 773) 

(Volume 89 Statutes at Large page 773)

  • United States statutes at large / compiled, edited, and indexed by authority of Congress under the direction of the Secretary of State.
  • KF50 .U5
  • The US Statutes at Large are available via Heinonline:

http://lawezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=statute 

This public law is also reprinted in the 1975 Laws volume 1 (94th Congress, First Session, 1975):

  • United States code congressional and administrative news.
  • KF48

Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1990

Public Law 101-476 (104 Stat. 1103)

(Volume 104 US Statutes at Large page 1103)

  • United States statutes at large / compiled, edited, and indexed by authority of Congress under the direction of the Secretary of State.
  • KF50 .U5
  • The US Statutes at Large are available via Heinonline:

http://lawezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=statute 

This public law is also reprinted in the 1990 Laws volume 1 (101st Congress, Second Session, 1990):

  • United States code congressional and administrative news.
  • KF48

 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004

Public Law 108-446 (118 Stat. 2647)

  • United States statutes at large / compiled, edited, and indexed by authority of Congress under the direction of the Secretary of State.
  • KF50 .U5
  • The US Statutes at Large are available via Heinonline:

http://lawezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=statute 

This public law is also reprinted in the 2004 Laws volume 2 (94th Congress, First Session, 1975):

  • United States code congressional and administrative news.
  • KF48

 

 

United States Code Annotated

The Education of Individuals with Disabilities is codified in 20 United States Code § 1400 et seq.  Look at the Print United States Code Annotated 

You can use the table of contents or turn to your specific section.  This set is updated with pocket parts - always check them for your research.

You can find the following information using an annotated code:

  • References to Historical and Statutory notes (Original enactment & information about amending public laws
  • References to legislative histories (usually Conference reports) contained in the USCCAN
  • Summaries of each amendment by year
  • Law Review and Journal Commentaries
  • Legal encyclopedia references (Corpus Juris Secundum, CJS)
  • Research references to ALR and other sources
  • Legal Forms
  • Treatises and Practice Aids
  • Notes of Decisions (summaries of cases) arranged by narrow subject
  • These are also updated in the pocket parts.
  • Note USCA is also available on Westlaw.

You can also use the official US Code however it doesn't have any of the useful annotations.  Lexis publishes the US Code Service - it also contains annotations to cases & secondary sources however it is less useful for locating legislative history information.

 

Legislative History

Education for All Handicapped Children Act of 1975: Legislative history available in USCCAN (U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News:

2 USCCAN 1975 at 1425. Contains The Senate Report and the Senate Conference Report.  USCCAN can be found in the law library here: 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004: Legislative history available in USCCAN (U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News: 5 USCCAN 2480. Contains the House Conference Report.  

USCCAN can be found in the law library here: 

Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1990: Legislative History available in USCCAN (U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News: 5 USCCAN (1990) at 1723. Contains the House Report and the House Conference Report.  

USCCAN can be found in the law library here: 

Education of the handicapped laws, legislative histories, and administrative documents / by Bernard D. Jeams, Jr 1982 http://lawezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/ehlha&collection=leghis

 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Congressional Intent.

  • Publisher:[S.l] : [s.n.], 1995-1996.
  • Format:Book
  • Physical Desc:1 online resource (11 p.)

 

http://lawezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://congressional.proquest.com/congcomp/getdoc?CRDC-ID=CRS-1995-AML-0021

 

Local Database

·         Holdings Information

Holdings Record Display

Electronic version (Hein online - NetID & password required): http://lawezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/idealp&collection=leghis

 

Disability law in the United States : a legislative history of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Public Law 101-336 / Volumes 1-6

KF3469 .R43 1992

http://summit.syr.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=91639

Electronic access (via Hein Online - Use your netid & password to access this resource):

http://lawezproxy.syr.edu/login?url=http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=leghis/dlus&collection=leghis

 

 

Regulations

Federal Education regulations are codified in the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 34 (Education).  Part 300 covers: Assistance to States for the Education of Children with Disabilities.

Definitions: 34 CFR §300.4 to 300.45

State Eligibility: Least Restrictive Environment: 300.114-300.120.

The current CFR is available in print in the law library: 

  • KF70 .A3
  • It is also available via HeinOnline  Hein also has all of historical versions of the CFR.
  • The US Government web version is available here

Proposed Regulations are published in the Federal Register.  Generally, there is a notice & comment period following the publication of proposed regulations.  The agency then publishes the final regulation first in the Federal Register (these final regs in the FR include a detailed explanation of the reasons for the regulations including a summary of comments received).  The final regualations are then incorporated into the Code of Federal Regulations.  You can read the Federal Register commentaries to learn about agency intent/rulemaking process.

Print versions of the Federal Register are availabe here in the law library: KF70 .A3  .pdf versions are available from HeinOnline or from the US Government Publishing Office

 

 

General Information

IDEA part B website (US Department of Education)

http://idea.ed.gov/explore/home

Links to Regulations, Statute, Training Materials, Forms, Video links, Presentations, Q & A 

Topical information about many things, including 'Private Schools' - When you click on topics, there are a variety of sources including links to relevant statutes & regulations.

 

Secondary Sources

Students with disabilities and special education

Product Details

by: Center for Education & Employment Law

Law KF4210 .H36

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) : background and issues

 Nancy Lee Jones, Richard N. Apling, and David P. Smole.

KF4210 .J668 2004

The special education desk book - 2014

John W. Norlin ; edited by Steven E. Lake. LRP Publishers

KF4210 .S63

IDEA guidebook : a comprehensive guide to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (Second Edition)

  • by Viola S. Lordi ... [et al.].
  • Publisher:Horsham, Pa. : : LRP Publications, c2007.

 

KF4210 .I34 2007

The law of special education and non-public schools : major challenges in meeting the needs of youth with disabilities / Charles J. Russo ..

KF4220 .L39 2009

  • The right to home school : a guide to the law on parents' rights in education / Christopher J. Klicka.
  • Author:Klicka, Christopher J., 1961- 
  • Publisher:Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press, c2002.
  • ISBN:0890896232
  • Description:3rd ed.


KF4221 .K56 2002

  • Legal problems of religious and private schools / Ralph D. Mawdsley.
  • Author:Mawdsley, Ralph D. 
  • Publisher:Dayton, Ohio : Education Law Association [c2006]
  • ISBN:1565341201
  • Description:5th ed.

KF4220 .M29 2006

  • PL 94-142 : An act of Congress / Erwin L. Levine, Elizabeth M. Wexler.
  • Author:Levine, Erwin L. 
  • Publisher:New York : Macmillan ; London : Collier Macmillan , c1981.


KF4210.A314 A164

 

  • Policy implementation and PL 99-457 : planning for young children with special needs / edited by James J. Gallagher, Pascal L. Trohanis, and Richard M. Clifford.
  • Author:Gallagher, James J. (James John), 1926-2014. 
  • Publisher:Baltimore : Brookes, c1989.

Product Details

 

KF4197 .G35 1989

  • Alternative schools : legal guidance for serving special education students / edited by Steven E. Lake.
  • Publisher:Horsham, PA : LRP Publications, c2000.

KF4209.3 .A47 2000

  • What's changed? : a side-by-side analysis of the 2006 and 1999 IDEA Part B regulations / Charles J. Russo, Allan G. Osborne, Jr., and Elizabeth Borreca.
  • Author:Russo, Charles J. 
  • Publisher:Horsham, Pa. : LRP Publications, c2006.

KF4209.3.A31 2004 R875 2006

  • What do I do when-- : the answer book on special education law / John W. Norlin.
  • Author:Norlin, John W. 
  • Publisher:Horsham, Pa. : LRP Publications, c2009.
  • Description:5th ed., updated and expanded.
  • KF4209.3.Z9 N67 2009
  • IDEA due process survival guide : a step-by-step companion for administrators and attorneys / by Fagen Friedman & Fulfrost, LLP.
  • Publisher:Horsham, Pa. : LRP Publications, 2008.
  • ISBN:1578341051
    9781578341054
  • KF4209.3 .I34 2008

 

  • Special education advocacy / Ruth Colker, Julie K. Waterstone.
  • Author:Colker, Ruth. 
  • Publisher:New Providence, NJ : LexisNexis, c2011.

KF4209.3 .C65 2011

 

  • Righting educational wrongs : disability studies in law and education / edited by Arlene S. Kanter and Beth A. Ferri ; with a foreword by Nancy Cantor.
  • Published:Syracuse, New York : Syracuse University Press, 2013.

  • KF4209.3.A75 S43 2013

 

 

Subject Specialist

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip